Sep 26, 2010

Straits Settlements Coins - Queen Victoria (1871 - 1901)

There are three series of Straits Settlements coins issued between 1871 and 1935 with the inscription of "Straits Settlements". These series of coins were issued under the reign of Queen Victoria (1837 -1901), King Edward VII (1901-1910) and King George V (1910-1936).

In brief, the three Settlements of Penang, Malacca and Singapore were amalgamated to form the Straits Settlements in 1826. The capital was Penang until 1836, when it was transferred to Singapore. In 1858, British Government took over the Straits Settlements. During this period, the Straits Settlements was under control of the Government of British India. A new issuance of coins with the inscription of "India Straits" was released in 1862.

In 1867, the Straits Settlements were transferred to the Imperial Government in London and on the same year the Straits Settlements became a Crown Colony. The first series of Straits Settlements coins was then issued in 1871. This series of Queen Victoria Straits Settlements coins was issued in 1/4 Cent, 1/2 Cent, 1 Cent, 5 Cents, 10 Cents, 20 Cents and 50 cents.

1/4 , 1/2 and 1 Cent coins were made by copper and bronze depending on their issuance year. 5, 10, 20 and 50 Cents were made by .800 silver. These coins were released from 1871 to 1901.

Straits Settlements coins during the reign of Queen Victoria (1837 to 1901)


Alvin Chan said...

What is the value of a 1893 straits settlements-Queen Victoria 50 Cents worth now?

Thank you

Fong Hey Mun said...

hi,how to know the Straits Settlement Coins is fake and real?