Jul 25, 2011

Commemorative Coins for Malaysia's New Third Coins Series

Another exciting day for coin collectors with the official launched of the new Third Series of the Malaysian coins which will be available for circulation in early 2012. Tan Sri Dr. Zeti Akhtar Aziz, governor of Bank Negara Malasyia, launched these commemorative coins which come in the denominations of 5 sen, 10 sen, 20 sen and 50 sen.
The new coins series draws inspiration from distinctive features that define the nation's rich culture and heritage. The design motifs were crafted in the form of nature, flora and fauna and traditional handicraft which is found in Malaysia.
This series of new coins are smaller and lighter compare to previous two series, making its more user-friendly for the public. The yellow and silver coloured coins and the edge designs enable the public and also the visually impaired to identify and distinguish the different denominations. The new series of coins embodies the latest advancements in minting technology which incorporates improved counterfeit resistance security features. The new metal alloy used for minting has enhanced durability against wear and corrosion.
Bank Negara Malaysia will make available 500,000 sets of the commemorative coins (Brilliant Uncirculated) comprising all the coin denominations with special packaging and to be sold in stages to the public at RM 10.00 per set.
These coins will be available for sale from 26 July 2011 at Bank Negara Malaysia's headquarters (BNMLINK) and its branches located in Pulau Pinang, Johor Bahru, Kuala Terengganu, Kota Kinabalu and Kuching.

The 3rd Series of Malaysian Coins

The motif for the 5 sen, 10 sen and 20 sen denomination features fourteen dots representing the thirteen States and the Federal Territory and (with exception of the 50 sen coin) five horizontal lines representing the five principles of the 'Rukun Negara' (national pillars).

The motifs for each domination are as follows:-

  • 50 sen - Sulur Kacang

  • 20 sen -Bunga Melur

  • 10 sen - Orang Asli Motif

  • 5 sen - Destar Siga

The reverse of all coins, 5 sen, 10 sen, 20 sen and 50 sen features the same motifs i.e. the hibiscus which is the national flower and numerals indicating the year of minting, the face value of the coin and the words 'Bank Negara Malaysia' as the issuing authority of the coins.
Further information of the Third Series of Malaysian Coins is available at Bank Negara Website.


Goh Kong Chee said...

Feeling that 500,000 set in circular is quite a big quantity issue, think may have little up side on price appreciation in after market.

Anonymous said...

Agree that with 500,000 sets, it will take forever to appreciate in price. Better go for those sets that are only sold to BNM staff which comes in a very nice black box with a certificate. The 4 coins are all in shiny white and looks like proof. Anybody knows the quantity of this issue?

Anonymous said...

Just look closely... Just like a Euro coins. ;) Very interesting design and still hoping that BNM will issue commonly circulated bi-metal coin.

Anonymous said...

Hi there all,
just urgently would need some high res scans of the new 2011 coins!
Just tried to get them at the BNM but no answer till now.
Please help me.
Kindly send the driectly to me:

1000 thanks!!!

Jack Hoo said...

BNM has announced that the third series of Malaysian Coins will be made available to public and circulated starting on 16 Janaury 2012.

Anonymous said...

orang asli motif looks more like an israeli motif