Dec 28, 2011

Release of 4th Series of Malaysian Banknotes by BNM

Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) has announced the introduction of new series of Malaysian Banknotes through its press statement on 21 December 2011. It was official launched by Prime Minister of Malaysia. This 4th series of Malaysian Banknotes consists of denomination of RM1, RM5, RM10, RM20 and RM100 which will be circulated in second half of 2012. The earlier issued or circulated RM50 is part of the new series. RM1 and RM5 are issued in form of polymer notes.

The 4th series of Malaysian Banknotes draws its inspiration from the distinctive features of Malaysia, incorporating elements of the country's natural treasures, culture and heritage. Themed 'Distinctively Malaysia', the banknotes features traditional expressions in the art and craft, natural wonders, flora and fauna and the economy.

In addition, this new series of banknote has Incorporated enhanced security features in line with the latest advancements in banknote technology. The security features for the new banknotes include shadow image, clear window, watermark portrait with pixel and highlighted numerals, colour shifting security thread, micro lens thread, perfect see-through register, coloured glossy patch for public recognition. Other features include tactile identification which enables the visually impaired to identify and distinguish the different denominations.

In conjunction with the official launched of the 4th series of Malaysian Banknotes, the BNM is issuing the commemorative banknotes for collection. The are three types of commemorative banknotes issued as following:-

  • A collection of two banknotes (RM1 and RM5 denomination) - 500,000 sets priced at RM15.00 each.

  • A collection of a single banknote (RM20 denomination) - 500,000 sets priced at RM30.00 each.

  • A collection of six banknotes (RM1, RM5, RM10, RM20, RM50 and RM100 denominations) - 50,000 sets priced at RM300.00 each. For each set of this collection, all the banknote denominations will carry the same serial number.

The obverse side of the 4th series of banknotes retain the portrait of the first Seri Paduka Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong, the national flower Rosa-sinensis hibiscus (known locally as the 'Bunga Raya'), the face value of the banknote, the words 'Bank Negara Malaysia' as the issuing authority of the banknotes and patterns of traditional woven fabric the 'songket' which are in the background and edges of the banknote to reflect traditional Malaysian textile handicraft and embroidery. Other features include the tactile identification for the visual impaired, watermark portrait with pixel and highlighted numerals.

The reverse side of the 4th series of banknotes illustrate the different elements of nature, tradition, culture, flora, fauna and the economy that are distinctively Malaysian. This series of banknotes also retain the Bank Negara Malaysia logo, serial numbers, Jawi wordings and songket weave patterns on the reverse side of the banknotes.

The motifs for each denomination are as follows:-

  • RM100 - Mount Kinabalu and pinnacles rock formations of Gunung Api valley

  • RM50 - Oil Palm and Biotechnology

  • RM20 - The Hawksbill and Leatherback Turtle

  • RM10 - Rafflesia

  • RM5 - Rhinoceros Hornbill

  • RM1 - Wau Bulan' (Moon Kite)

For further information of the newly launched series of Malaysian Banknotes, please visit the official website of THE NEW SERIES OF MALAYSIAN BANKNOTES by BNM. You can find detail description of each denomination banknotes and a video clips that reveals the new series of Malaysian Banknotes.


Diane said...

Hi, I liked your blog and I personally invite you to join htttp:// - The World's Free Collectors Zone.
We will also be happy to cooperate with your blog such as adding its link to our site.
All the best,

Harry said...

Hi, Nice post! Would you please consider adding a link to my website on your page. Please email me back.